Zoom Japon 030

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki: It is your first European tour, how do you imagine the public?

Masafumi Gotoh: I don’t know, I hope everybody won’t come wearing a cosplay! (laughing) Otherwise, we will have to be dressed like this too! It is true that Japanese bands known in Europe have a very extravagant look, men are wearing make-up. They are “idols”. But us, we are very simple!

Kensuke Kita: Yes and furthermore, we are ojisan, old men! (laughing)

Akfgfragments: Can you tell us how everything began?

Masafumi Gotoh: We met each other at the university at Yokohama, 17 years ago, and we never split up, that is to say half of our life spent together! At the beginning, we made some little concerts in front of almost nobody for 4 years. Then we were done with our university years. At this moment, we decided to commit ourselves deeply. We raised the number of concerts performed in Tokyo, then we were invited to play at parties. In 2003, Ki/oon Records contacted us for releasing again the album Houkai Amplifier that was previously released on an indies records (Under Flower Records) It was an exceptional circumstance. So we signed, stopped our jobs, because we were also working as employee in companies and we became freeters, part-time employees

Akfgfragments: Your indies era started from 1999 to 2003. Did you have some difficulties to produce yourselves?

Masafumi Gotoh: Yes, it wasn’t easy, because we didn’t really know how to do so. Everything was handmade. I had a Mac and I did the promotion on the Web.

Kensuke Kita: Because I didn’t know how to use all of this, I did the ironing of the T-shirts.

Masafumi Gotoh: Everything was expensive, the parking for the car, gas. We were always broke after the shows or the sells, without loss or profit!

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki: Some of your songs were used as opening for some animes, do you enjoy yourself mangas?

Masafumi Gotoh: Honestly, we aren’t good at it and with our ages, it is difficult to be on it. Our references turn mostly around MIYAZAKI Hayao. We composed first those songs and then they were taken back for anime opening. It helps us a lot of course to make ourselves known. I like the ninja’s character that is Naruto. Ninjas are unique. They are the Japanese equivalent of James Bond!

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki: The name of Asian Kung-Fu Generation evokes Asia. That’s quite original right?

Masafumi Gotoh: Yes, it doesn’t prevent us to listen to occidental music, but us, we consider ourselves as Asian. This is also a way to say that we can make good music in Asia, that there is no difference. But if we did the same song like an American band, this is probably the American that people will listen to and not us! I listen to quite a lot of Korean bands and also traditional music such as Indonesian gamelan. But to put Japanese melodies on rock music it gives a particular style. If the European public like it, we would be really happy!

Akfgfragments: The band reputation is conveyed by the very original NAKAMURA Yusuke’s illustrations. Do you know him for long time?

Masafumi Gotoh: He is part of the Ajikan family. We have known him when we were still releasing indies albums. Now, we are working together for more than 10 years. Actually, we discovered him because of a post card. His style very Japanese made me immediately think that it could be an excellent way to spread our image including abroad. It was a good feeling!

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki: You have founded the Nano Mugen Festival in 2003 who welcome Asian and European bands, such as Weezer who went play there in 2012.

Masafumi Gotoh: That is correct. At first, I thought it would be funny to do a party with 2 stages, at the beginning it was at Shinjuku in a live house, then it increased a lot with around 12000 spectators each days. But the idea remains the same. It is a about making young bands known on the small stage while inviting well known bands on the main stage.

Akfgfragments: On March 2011, the Fukushima disaster has shaken Japan but also the entire world. What were you doing this day?

Masafumi Gotoh: We were rehearsing at Tokyo. The ground has quaked in a unimaginable way. I did not think one second at the moment to the nuclear risk, the made in Japan technology couldn’t be questioned, we were in complete confidence with what the media harped us on about. Me, I returned to Shizuoka and when the explosions have begun, I asked to the other members of the band to meet me there. I was really pissed off. We couldn’t at least get Geiger counter, we didn’t know what was exactly going on.

Kensuke Kita: I stayed locked tight at my place at Yokohama. It was a really a dangerous atmosphere for the 13 million inhabitant of the region. But something prevented us from moving. I think we couldn’t believe it.

Akfgfragments: On July 2011, Gotoh became redactor-in-chief and journalist. He releases the first issue of The Future Times. How this initiative was seen by the other members of the band?

Masafumi Gotoh: Without any problem. We are adults endowed with reason! It is common to start doing things like this. If we don’t understand to what is going on, it’s the shame. Especially after such accident. Imagine that my kid asking me “Dad, what do you think of the nuclear?” and that I don’t know what to answer to him. Artists who don’t express themselves on that matter are in the business and don’t want to compromise their sponsors. But us, Ajikan, we don’t care about it. We are not here for doing business. Even is we live from this today, if ever we were stopped being pay, we will always keep making music. And we will keep to attack nuclear power. Have you seen what is going on at Fukushima!

Kensuke Kita: Me too, I went for the first time in my life to an anti-nuclear demonstration at Tokyo. I met there a lot of musician friends. It was when the Oi Nuclear power station reactors were rebooted last July, it was amazing and comforting too.

Akfgfragments: By the way, you are with SAKAMOTO Ryûichi the originator of the first anti nuclear festival of Japan, the No Nukes Festival. Ajikan also more and more perform on stage supplied by solar energy. How do your public react?

Masafumi Gotoh: The public is still so numerous and all our fans ask us The Future Times, even if it is not a magazine on music. To organizing festivals under the anti-nuclear banner do not spoil at all our music, at the contrary, the energy is increased. And when we play with instruments and lights powered by solar energy, we are inevitably turn towards the future. Note that the company Eco live system, who has developed this technology elected “Best new product of the year 2011” during the faire Live Design International at the US. It was very encouraging, and many Japanese artists are interested of this product. In Japan, to be green does not rhyme with being hippy or babacool!

Akfgfragments: Do you have any other projects?

Masafumi Gotoh: Yes, for example we would like to translate The Future Times in English. Tsuge, the magazine’s illustrator , also was a member of Ajikan in the very beginning, and had a career in design. There is no coincidence! I am glad to know that abroad fans are sensitive to the magazine’s design even if they may not understand its content.

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki: Are you planning to do some tourism between two dates of your concerts in Europe?

Masafumi Gotoh: Unfortunately we will be performing every day except on the last day in Germany. If I find the time, I would like to write an article about renewable energy for The Future Times. It is a category in which German people are leaders. Regarding France, I hope there won’t be too many strikes when we will be there! As far as I know, French people would certainly have a lot to teach to Japanese people in that matter. (laughing)

Comments

So empty here ... leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sidebar

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki : C’est votre première tournée européenne, comment imaginez-vous le public?

Masafumi Gotoh : Je ne sais pas, j’espère que tout le monde ne vas pas venir en tenue de cosplay ! (rires) Sinon il va falloir que, nous aussi, on soit habillés comme ça ! Il est vrai que les groupes japonais connus en Europe ont un look très extravagant, les hommes sont maquillés. Ce sont des « idols ». Mais nous, nous sommes très banals !

Kensuke Kita : Oui et en plus, nous sommes des ojisan, des vieux ! (rires)

Akfgfragments : Pouvez-vous nous raconter vos débuts?

Masafumi Gotoh : On s’est rencontrés à l’université à Yokohama, il y a 17 ans, et on ne s’est plus quittés, soit la moitié de notre vie passée ensemble ! Au début, on a fait des petits concerts devant presque personne. Ça a duré 4 ans. Ensuite, on est sortis de l’université et à partir de là, on a décidé de s’investir à fond. On a augmenté le nombre de concerts à Tôkyô, puis on a commencé à être invités pour jouer dans des soirées. En 2003, le label Ki/oon Records nous a contactés pour remettre en vente l’album Houkai Amplifier sorti sur un label indies, c’était un cas exceptionnel. On a donc signé, arrêté nos boulots, car on travaillait aussi comme salariés dans des entreprises, et on est devenus des freeters, des travailleurs à temps partiel.

Akfgfragments : Votre époque indie a duré de 1999 à 2003. Avez-vous eu des difficultés à vous produire ?

Masafumi Gotoh : Oui, ce n’était pas évident, car on ne savait pas trop comment faire. Tout était artisanal. J’avais un Mac et je faisais la promo sur la toile.

Kensuke Kita : Comme je ne sais pas du tout me servir de tout ça, je repassais les T-shirts.

Masafumi Gotoh : Tout était cher : le parking pour la voiture, l’essence. On tombait toujours à zéro après les concerts ou les ventes, sans perte ni bénéfice !

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki : Certaines de vos chansons sont utilisées comme génériques pour des animés, êtes-vous vous-mêmes fans de mangas?

Masafumi Gotoh : A franchement parler, on n’est pas trop calé à ce niveau-là et à nos âges, c’est difficile de s’y mettre. Nos références se situent plutôt autour de MIYAZAKI Hayao. On a composé d’abord ces morceaux et ensuite ils ont été repris dans les thèmes des animés. Ça nous a bien sûr beaucoup aidé à nous faire connaître. J’aime bien en tout cas le personnage de ninja de Naruto. Les ninjas sont uniques. Ils sont l’équivalent japonais de James Bond !

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki : Le nom d’Asian Kung-Fu Generation évoque l’Asie. C’est plutôt original comme choix.

Masafumi Gotoh : Oui, ça ne nous empêche pas d’écouter de la musique occidentale mais nous, on se considère comme asiatique. C’est aussi une manière de dire qu’on peut faire de la bonne musique en Asie, qu’il n’y a pas de différence. Mais si on faisait le même morceau qu’un groupe américain, ce sont probablement les Américains qu’on écouterait et pas nous ! J’écoute pas mal de groupes coréens et aussi de la musique traditionnelle comme le gamelan indonésien. Mais mettre des mélodies japonaises sur du rock donne un genre particulier. Si le public européen apprécie cela, on sera vraiment heureux !

Akfgfragments : L’image du groupe est véhiculée par les illustrations très originales de Nakamura Yûsuke, vous le connaissez depuis longtemps?

Masafumi Gotoh : Il fait partie de la famille d’Ajikan. On l’a connu quand on sortait encore des albums indies. Maintenant ça fait 10 ans qu’on bosse ensemble. En fait, on l’a découvert grâce à une carte postale. Son graphisme au style très japonais m’a tout de suite fait penser que ce serait un excellent moyen de diffuser notre image y compris à l’étranger. C’était une bonne intuition !

Alissa Descotes-Toyosaki : Vous avez fondé le Nano Mugen Festival en 2003 qui accueille des groupes asiatiques et occidentaux, dont Weezer qui est venu jouer en 2012.

Kensuke Kita : C’est exact. A l’origine j’ai pensé que ça serait amusant de faire une soirée avec 2 scènes, au début c’était à Shinjuku dans un live house, puis ça a pris de l’importance avec environ 12000 spectateurs par jour. Mais l’idée reste la même. Il s’agit de faire connaître des jeunes groupes sur la petite scène tout en invitant des groupes plus connus sur la grande scène.

Akfgfragments : En mars 2011, la catastrophe de Fukushima a ébranlé le Japon mais aussi le reste du monde. Que faisiez-vous ce jour-là?

Masafumi Gotoh : Nous étions en train de répéter à Tôkyô. La terre a tremblé d’une manière inimaginable. Je n’ai pas pensé alors une seule seconde au risque nucléaire : la technologie made in Japan ne pouvait être mise en doute, on était complétement en confiance avec ce que nous rabâchaient les médias. Moi, je suis retourné à Shizuoka et quand les explosions ont commencé, j’ai proposé aux membres du groupe de me rejoindre. J’avais sérieusement les boules. On ne pouvait même pas se procurer des compteurs Geiger, on ne savait pas ce qu’il se passait exactement.

Kensuke Kita : Je suis resté enfermé chez moi à Yokohama. C’était une ambiance vraiment dangereuse pour les 13 millions d’habitants de la région. Mais quelque chose nous empêchait de bouger. Je pense qu’on n’arrivait pas à y croire.

Akfgfragments : En juillet 2011, Gotoh devient rédacteur en chef et journaliste. Il sort le premier numéro de The Future Times. Comment a été perçue cette initiative par les autres membres du groupe?

Masafumi Gotoh : Sans aucun problème. Nous sommes des adultes doués de raison ! C’est normal d’enclencher des actions comme celle-ci. Si on ne comprend rien à ce qui se passe, c’est la honte. Surtout après un accident pareil. Imaginez que mon gosse me demande « Papa, tu penses quoi du nucléaire ? » et que je ne sache pas quoi lui répondre. Les artistes qui ne s’expriment pas sur ce sujet sont dans le business et ne veulent pas compromettre leur sponsors. Mais nous, Ajikan, on s’en fiche de tout ça. On n’est pas là pour faire du business. Même si maintenant on en vit, si jamais on arrête de nous payer, on continuera toujours à faire de la musique. Et on continuera aussi à attaquer l’énergie nucléaire. Vous avez vu ce qui se passe à Fukushima !

Kensuke Kita : Moi aussi, je suis allé pour la première fois de ma vie à une manifestation anti-nucléaire à Tôkyô. J’y ai croisé beaucoup d’amis musiciens. C’était au moment du redémarrage des réacteurs de la centrale d’Ôi en juillet dernier, c’était incroyable et rassurant aussi.

Akfgfragments : À ce propos, vous êtes l’initiateur avec SAKAMOTO Ryûichi du premier festival anti-nucléaire au Japon, le No Nukes Festival. Ajikan se produit aussi de plus en plus sur des scènes alimentées à l’énergie solaire. Comment votre public réagit-il?

Masafumi Gotoh : Il est toujours aussi nombreux et tous nos fans nous demandent The Future Times, même si ce n’est pas un journal sur la musique. Organiser des festivals sous la bannière anti-nucléaire n’altère en rien notre musique, bien au contraire ; l’énergie est décuplée. Et quand nous jouons avec des instruments et des lumières alimentés par l’énergie solaire, on est forcément tournés vers l’avenir. A noter que la société Eco live system a développé cette technologie élue « Meilleur nouveau produit de l’année 2011 » lors de la foire Live Design International aux Etats-Unis. C’est très encourageant et de nombreux artistes japonais s’y intéressent. Au Japon, être vert ne rime pas avec hippie ou babacool !

Akfgfragments : Avez-vous d’autres projets?

Masafumi Gotoh : Oui, par exemple nous aimerions traduire The Future Times en anglais. Tsuge, l’illustrateur du journal, était aussi un membre d’Ajikan au tout début et a fait carrière dans le design. Comme quoi, il n’y a pas de hasard ! Je suis content de savoir que les fans étrangers sont sensibles au design de ce journal même s’ils n’en comprennent pas le contenu.

Alissa : Comptez-vous faire un peu de tourisme entre vos concerts en Europe?

Masafumi Gotoh : Malheureusement nous enchaînons les concerts, à part le dernier jour en Allemagne. Si je trouve le temps, je vais en profiter pour écrire un article sur les énergies renouvelables pour The Future Times. C’est un domaine où les Allemands sont à la pointe. Pour ce qui est de la France, j’espère qu’il n’y aura pas de grève quand on y sera ! Bien qu’en la matière les Français auraient sûrement beaucoup à enseigner aux Japonais (rires).

Credits : Propos Recueillis par A. D-T avec l’aimable collaboration de Kiefer Vudjan du site www.akfgfragments.com © Zoom Japon – www.akfgfragments.com. Tous droits réservés.